Johnsonville School has four whanau-houses - Korimako (green), Pihipihi (silver), Tieke (red) and Tui (blue). Each whanau-house is named after a New Zealand native bird that feed off the flowers of harakeke (flax). 

Introduced in 2012, the whanau-house system is a vibrant part of the school's culture and aims to give students an identity and sense of pride in a supportive, secure environment. The whanau-houses provide for positive competition and a closer rapport between students and school staff.

Each whanau-house has two Year 6 Whanau-House Leaders who help the teachers organise the events that make up the school's whanau-house competition. 

2017 Whanau House Leaders
Korimako (Luke and Rhea)
Pihipihi (Aliyah and Sam)
Tieke (Oliver, Peehoo (until June) and Avin (from June)
Tui (Devin and Emma)

Past Whanau House Leaders:

Korimako (Akio and Tayla)
Pihipihi (Asher and Brooke)
Tieke (Ben and Mahita)
Tui (Briana and Hayden)

Korimako (Che and Jemma)
Pihipihi (Aaliyah and Anirudh)
Tieke (Aurora and Joshua)
Tui (Eve and Theo)

Korimako (Laura and Warrior)
Pihipihi (Aditya G and Felicity)
Tieke (Felix and Kiri)
Tui (James and Rebecca)

Korimako (Aaron and Cara)
Pihipihi (Thomas G and Virginia)
Tieke (Christopher and Victoria)
Tui (Alex L and Isabella)

Korimako (Isaac and Victoria)
Pihipihi (Farin and William)
Tieke (Lexi and Mitchell)
Tui (Alex and Jody)

No comments:

Post a Comment